Can’t Leave a Group Chat on Your iPhone?



Occasionally your iPhone will not let you leave group exchanges in the Dispatches app. We will explain why that’s and show you what to do rather.

Group exchanges are veritably accessible they allow you to have multiple exchanges with several people contemporaneously and allow you to seamlessly keep the exchanges going. Still, you may find yourself wanting to leave a group converse in Dispatches but unfit to do so.
Below are some reasons why you can not leave group exchanges on your iPhone — and what you can do rather.

Why Can’t I Leave a Group Chat in Apple Dispatches?

There are two kinds of group exchanges in Apple Dispatches an iMessage group, where everybody in the group is an Apple stoner; and an SMS/ MMS group, which can include a combination of Apple and non-Apple druggies.
To separate the two, an iMessage group has blue speech bubbles while an SMS/ MMS group has green bones. As long as at least one person in the group is anon-Apple stoner, you will be in an SMS/ MMS group, indeed if the rest are Apple druggies.

Then is the kick SMS/ MMS groups do not give you an option to leave.

You can only leave group exchanges in an iMessage group, when everyone is an Apple stoner. Still, with SMS/ MMS groups you can only leave if there are at least three people left in the group, and all of them are using an Apple device. However, it’s likely that one or further druggies is not using an Apple device with a iMessage enabled, If you can not leave.

How to Leave a Group Chat on Your iPhone?

As mentioned, you can only leave a group converse if everyone is using an Apple device and if at least three people will be left on the thread. To leave

  1. Open the group converse.
  2. Tap the group icon or the group name at the top of the thread.
  3. Tap the Info (i) button.
  4. Scroll down and tap Leave this Discussion.

What to Do If You Can not Leave a Group Chat?

Still, leaving isn’t possible, If you’re part of an SMS/ MMS group. Still, you can still get relieve of the noise by simply muting the group. To do this

  1. Open the group converse.
  2. Tap the group icon or the group name at the top of the thread.
  3. Tap the Info (i) button.
  4. Scroll down and toggle the switch on for Hide Cautions.

Alternately, swipe left over the group communication, tap the Cautions button, or the bell icon in purple. A crescent icon will appear coming to the group converse to indicate that it’s muted. To undo this, swipe again and tap the Cautions button again.
Help Announcement Collapse



Keeping connected is a mortal need. Still, back-and- forth talking about gibberish or motifs you are not really interested in can be annoying. It may be that you need some solitariness and a many hours free from distractions and noise. Muting group discussion, or leaving them altogether for some important- demanded quiet, may just be what you need.

Mark Funk
Mark Funk is an experienced information security specialist who works with enterprises to mature and improve their enterprise security programs. Previously, he worked as a security news reporter.