Getting rid of Yahoo? How to Deactivate a Yahoo Email Account
Are you planning to leave Yahoo and switch to another email provider? Here’s how to remove your Yahoo account step by step.
After its inception in 1997, Yahoo’s email platform, which was once the internet’s pathfinder, garnered enormous popularity. Yahoo’s fame has faded over time as a result of numerous security problems and tough competition.
Here are the procedures to deactivate your Yahoo account, whether you’re still on the fence or have already made up your mind.
How to Deactivate or Deactivate Your Yahoo Account?
If you assume that removing a Yahoo account means looking for a “Delete” button in your account settings, you’re mistaken.
While deleting your Yahoo account isn’t difficult, the Yahoo team makes it difficult for you to do so, which is understandable given the site’s dwindling popularity.
Yahoo actually created a separate Yahoo account cancellation page that you can visit to delete your account. These are the steps you need to follow when you want to delete your Yahoo account.
- Visit edit.yahoo.com/config/delete_user
- Enter your email address, then Next.
- Enter your password, then Next once more.
- Learn the Terms for Terminating Your Yahoo Account.
- Click Yes to terminate this account.
Yahoo allows you to retrieve any account that has been deactivated within 40 days after you send the request. Your account will be deleted permanently if you do not send the deactivation request.
Before You Quit Yahoo, Here’s What You Should Know
Before you completely abandon Yahoo, there are a few things to keep in mind.
Will I be able to access my email for the foreseeable future?
You can reactivate your account for a period of 30 days after it has been cancelled.
This allows you to view your old emails and reactivate your account if you decide to change your mind. Your account will be permanently terminated after this time period has passed.
After my account is closed, what happens to emails sent to my address?
Senders emailing you on your deleted account will receive a bounceback delivery failure notification as soon as you terminate your Yahoo account.
As a result, it’s a good idea to keep an eye on your Yahoo emails before cancelling the service. This allows you to keep track of how many messages you get while also informing your contacts of your new email address.
What Happens to My Username and Email Address?
Your username and email address will be available to the public and could be used by others in the future. If your senders continue to use your old email address, they may receive messages intended for you, but this is unlikely if they have gotten too many delivery failure reports in the interim.
Will I be able to access all of my data?
You will lose access to your emails, email folders, Flickr photographs, calendars, Yahoo Fantasy teams, and Yahoo Finance portfolios if you remove your Yahoo account.
Making the Transition Away from Yahoo
Now that you’ve accomplished that, you must select what to do next. Our best advice right now is to choose a secure alternative that encrypts your messages.
Of course, you may always return to Yahoo if the service regains popularity or if you prefer not to use one of the more popular email providers, such as Gmail.